More services





Please Feel Free To

Browse Through

Our  Website 






Welcome To South African Postal Workers Union

The idea of forming an alternative trade union in the South African Post Office came through informal discussions around early 2008. On the 8th August 2008 in Kwaggasrand (Pretoria) a decision was taken that we start a formal registration process of the South African Postal Workers Union (SAPWU) with the Department of Labour.

The draft emblem/logo was circulated to different regions for inputs. The view was that it should capture the essence of the Post Office worker.

LOGO3 SmallOn the 18th December 2008 a formal application was made with the Department of Labour to acquire a Certificate of Registration, this being a requirement in terms of the Labour Relations Act, Act 66 of 1995. The Certificate of Registration was issued by the Department of Labour on the 27th May 2009, with Registration Number LR2/6/2/1672



2nd National Congress

The 2nd National Congress was held on the 25 - 28 June 2019 , Silverlakes ( Pretoria). The national congress ushered in a new leadership which has been mandated to rebuild the organisation. All the six SAPWU regions formed the core of the congress. The following leadership was elected:

President                           Jabu Langa

Deputy President                Gezane Mahlaule  

General Secretary                David Mangena

Deputy General Secretary    Tsiki Ndlovu

Treasure General                Mark Wassink


Please feel free to view the gallery of SAPWU


Contact us if you would like the latest news of the south african post office and South Africa Postal Service!

Benefits To Members

Our union offers a comprehensive benefit to members, which include the following;

• Representations for internal disciplinary hearings
• Representations in grievance hearings
• Representations at CCMA and Labour Court
• Funeral Benefits ( Cover ) to the value of R 10,000-00
• Bargaining on behalf of members
• Representation at strategic company forums
• Salary Increase of 7%
• Collective bargaining on behalf of members
• Salary Backdate to 1st April
• Increase in transport allowance
• Increase in housing subsidy
• Job security ( 2013-14)
• Reinstatement of Accidental death cover


Connect With SAPWU

National Office

-Suite 218/9
-Prime Towers
-296 Frances Baard Street

National Admisitrator :      Ms.Madichaba Mohlala
National Office Manager :  Mr.Vukile "Vulture" Ntuluki

National Office Bearers

-Andrew Sithole
-Jabu Langa
-David Mangena      
-Sindi Mbinda 
-Lerato Nchinyane

Deputy President
General Secretary
Deputy General Secretary
Treasure General